Last update: June 10, 2023
Minimum Hiring Age in Florida
What is the minimum age to be employed in Florida? The legal age to work in Florida is 10, but governed by state and federal child labor laws and varies based on:
- The type of work (e.g., agricultural or non-agricultural)
- Whether the job is considered hazardous or has prohibited duties.
- Whether school is in session.
- The legal status of the minor (e.g., emancipated minors).
- Whether the job is exempt from the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
According to Federal Law (FLSA), a minor must be at least 14 years old to work for an employer (e.g. retail stores, food service establishments and gasoline service stations), with an exception for minors working for a parent or legal guardian who owns the business. This is the reason why you will never see job postings for children under the age of 14.
- None: Minors who work for their parents in occupations not declared hazardous in the Florida legislature; Newspaper delivery (10 years old); Minors in the entertainment industry registered with Child Labor; Compliance;
- 14: Minimum working age
- 16: For the handling certain dangerous animals; Conducting door-to-door sales of products as employment (some exceptions); Spray painting
- 18: Unrestricted. Sell alcoholic beverages (as such as beer, and wine) and to work as a barkeeper. Sell tobacco products.
- 21: Sell alcoholic beverages (Spirits).
Minimum age to drive motor vehicles (cars and small trucks) on public roads as part of jobs is basically 17 years old, with certain requirements.
Minimum age to serve and bartend alcohol in Florida:
- 14: May work up to 15 hours per week. Not before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m. and for no more than 3 hours a day on school days, when a school day follows. May work up to 8 hours on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and on nonschool days, when school days do not follow, until 9 p.m.
- 16: May work up to 30 hours per week. Not before 6:30 a.m. or later than 11 p.m. and for no more than 8 hours a day when school is scheduled the following day. On days when school does not follow, there are no hour restrictions.
- 18: Unrestricted
Maximum daily and weekly hours and days per week for minors ages 14 and 15:
8-40-6 school day: 3 when followed by school day, except if enrolled in vocational program School week: 15
Minors under 16 may work 8-40 during non-school day or week.
Nightwork prohibited for minors ages 14 and 15:
7 p.m. before school day to 7 a.m. on school day (9 p.m. during holidays and summer vacations to 7 a.m.)
Maximum daily and weekly hours and days per week for ages 16 and 17:
8-30-6 during schoolyear
Nightwork prohibited for ages 16 and 17:
11 p.m. to 6:30 a.m., before school day.
Work PermitWork permit is not required, but employers must obtain and keep proof of age on record during the employment of the minor. Exception is when hire minors in the Entertainment Industry http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/reg/documents/Permit%20To%20Hire%20Minors.pdf An age certificate issued by the district school board is one method of meeting the proof of age requirement.
The minimum wages in Florida is $11.00. FLSA allow employers to pay a youth minimum wage of not less than $4.25 an hour to employees who are under 20 years of age during the first 90 consecutive calendar days after initial employment.