Teen Labor Laws

teen labor laws

AL AK AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WV WI WY

Alabama (AL)
Under 14Minimum age to work in Alabama is 14 years old (under 14 MAY NOT WORK)
14-15May work in retail, clerical and child care occupations. May not work in an establishment where alcoholic beverages are sold or served. Employers must have Class I Certificate.
16-17May be employed in such establishments as busboy, janitors, dishwashers, cooks, hostesses, or seaters. Employers must have Class II Certificate.
18-19May work in that part of an establishment where alcoholic beverages are sold or served for consumption on premises.
ResourceAlabama Teen Labor Law (PDF) – Alabama Department of Labor (Homepage)
Alaska (AK)
Under 14May only work in the following occupations:
– Newspaper sales and delivery.
– Babysitting, handiwork and domestic employment in or about private homes.
– Occupations in the entertainment industry, with an approved work permit from the Alaska Wage and Hour Administration.
14-15During school vacations, work hours will be limited to 40 hours per week between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.
16-17May work for six days in a week. Must have a work permit on file with the department if the employer has a restaurant designation and is licensed to sell alcohol.
18-19May not sell tobacco or tobacco products in the course of their employment.
ResourceAlaska Child Labor Law (Homepage)
Arkansas (AR)
Under 14Children under age 14 years are prohibited from working, except that during school vacation, children under fourteen (14) years may be employed by their parents or guardians in occupations owned or controlled by them.
14-15May not work before 6:00 A.M. or after 7:00 P.M. during schooldays and limited to 48 hours within six days in a week.
16-17May not work before 6:00 a.m. or after 11:00 p.m. during schooldays and limited to 54 hours within six days in a week.
18-19No restrictions applied.
ResourceArkansas Child Labor Law (PDF)
California (CA)
All minors under 18 years of age employed in the state of California must have a permit to work.
12-13May be employed only during school holidays and vacations. During school vacations, work hours will be limited to 8 hours per day from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.
14-15Must have completed 7th grade to work while school in session with maximum of 3 hours per schoolday outside of school hours and 8 hours on any non-schoolday from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.
16-17Must have completed 7th grade to work while school in session with maximum of 4 hours per schoolday outside of school hours and 8 hours on any non-schoolday from 5 a.m. – 10 p.m.
18-19May not be employed during business hours in or on that portion of any premises that are primarily designed and used for the sale and service of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises.
ResourceCalifornia Child Labor Law (Website)
Colorado (CO)
14-15Must have school release permit to work during school hours. May not work more than 40 hours per week or 8 hours in any 24-hour period.
16-17May not work more than 40 hours per week or 8 hours in any 24-hour period.
18-2018 year olds are not minors and are not subject to Colorado youth laws.
ResourceColorado Teen Labor Laws
Connecticut (CT)
14-15May not work during school hours.• Before 7:00am or after 7:00pm • More than 3 hours per day • More than 18 hours a week
16-17May work only from 6:00am to 11:00pm • 6 hours per day • 8 hours per day on Friday, Saturday, Sunday
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceConnecticut Teen Labor Laws
Delaware (DE)
14-15Must have a Class 1 work permit, very limited on hours worked during the school year. Limited to retail, clerical, and child care occupations. May not work where alcohol is sold or served.
16-17Must have Class 2 work permit. Cannot work after 10:00pm or before 5:00am. See the link below for the prohibited occupations
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceDelaware Teen Labor Laws
Florida (FL)
14-15Work Permits are required for all employed minors under the age of 18. • Employers are required to keep Work Permits on file for each employed minor.
16-17Work Permits are required for all employed minors under the age of 18. • Employers are required to keep Work Permits on file for each employed minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceFlorida Teen Labor Laws
Georgia (GA)
14-15Work Permits are required for all employed minors under the age of 18.
16-17Work Permits are required for all employed minors under the age of 18.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceGeorgia Teen Labor Laws
Hawaii (HI)
14-15Must work between 7:00am and 7:00pm, no more than six consecutive days, and no more than eighteen hours in a week. Cannot work more than three hours on any school day.
16-17Must work between 7:00am and 7:00pm, no more than six consecutive days, and no more than eighteen hours in a week. Cannot work more than three hours on any school day.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceHawaii Teen Labor Laws
Idaho (ID)
14-15 • 3 hours on a school day or 18 hours in a school week; • 8 hours on a non-school day or 40 hours in a non-school week. Also, work may not begin before 7:00am or end after 7:00pm, except from June 1 through Labor Day, when evening hours are extended to 9:00pm. Different rules apply in agricultural employment. Employers of ‘tipped employees’ aged 21; must pay a cash wage of at least $2.13 per hour if they claim a tip credit
16-17Does not specifically prohibit jobs. There are 17 listed Hazardous Occupations: if any of them apply, it would be prohibited
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceIdaho Teen Labor Laws
Illinois (IL)
14-15Employment certificates must be issued by the school district and filed with the Department of Labor confirming that a minor is old enough to work.
16-17Does not specifically prohibit jobs. There are 17 listed Hazardous Occupations: if any of them apply, it would be prohibited
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceIllinois Teen Labor Laws
Indiana (IN)
14-15Forbid the employment in occupations deemed prohibited under the child labor provisions of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Work permits may not be issued and employers must not employ minors
16-17Forbid the employment in occupations deemed prohibited under the child labor provisions of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Work permits may not be issued and employers must not employ minors.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceIndiana Teen Labor Laws
Iowa (IA)
14-15Requires work permits. May work 4 hours per day on school days, up to 28 hours per week when school is in session.
16-17Employers may require work permits. Prohibits occupations involving operation of laundry, dry cleaning, or dyeing machinery, and dangerous/ hazardous chemicals.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceIowa Teen Labor Laws
Kansas (KS)
14-15Work permits required. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 10:00pm on days preceding a school day.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceKansas Teen Labor Laws
Kentucky (KY)
14-15Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceKentucky Teen Labor Laws
Louisiana (LA)
14-15Have on file an employment certificate for you completed by your school or school board. Limit your work schedule to no more than 3 hours on a school day and no more than 18 hours total during a school week.
16-17Cannot work before 5:00am or after 11:00pm.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceLouisiana Teen Labor Laws
Maine (ME)
14-15Must have work permit. May work in most businesses, except in most jobs in bakeries, manufacturing mechanical, dry cleaners, laundries, hotels/motels, and most commercial places of amusement.
16-17may work in most businesses, but not in hazardous jobs.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceMaine Teen Labor Laws
Maryland (MD)
14-15Required to have a Minor Work Permit. Employers are required to have a work permit
16-17Required to have a Minor Work Permit. Employers are required to have a work permit
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceMaryland Teen Labor Laws
Massachusetts (MA)
14-15Employment permits are required. Cannot work between 7:00pm and 7:00am.
16-17Employment permits are required. May NOT be employed between 10:00pm and 6:00am.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceMassachusetts Teen Labor Laws
Michigan (MI)
14-15May be employed between the hours of 7:00am and 9:00pm. Combined hours of school and work cannot exceed 48 hours in a work week.
16-17May be employed between the hours of 6:00am and 10:30pm Sunday through Thursday. Employed no more than 18 hours while school is in session.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceMichigan Teen Labor Laws
Minnesota (MN)
14-15Cannot work before 7:00am or after 9:00pm with the exception of a newspaper carrier
16-17Cannot work later than 11:00pm on evenings before school days or before 5:00am on school days
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceMinnesota Teen Labor Laws
Mississippi (MS)
14-15Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceMississippi Teen Labor Laws
Missouri (MO)
14-15Work Certificates are required. Must work between the hours of 7:00am and 7:00pm. No more than three hours during school days.
16-17No work permit required. Cannot work more than 5 1/2 hours without a 15 minute break.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceMissouri Teen Labor Laws
Montana (MT)
14-15Cannot work during school hours, before 7:00am or after 7:00pm, or be employed more than 3 hours on a school day and 18 hours in a school week.
16-17Cannot work during school hours, before 7:00am or after 7:00pm, or be employed more than 3 hours on a school day and 18 hours in a school week.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceMontana Teen Labor Laws
Nebraska (NE)
14-15Must have a Class 1 work permit, very limited on hours worked during the school year. Limited to retail, clerical, and child care occupations. May not work where alcohol is sold or served.
16-17Must have Class 2 work permit, Cannot work after 10:00pm or before 5:00am. See the link below for the prohibited occupations.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceNebraska Teen Labor Laws
Nevada (NV)
14-15Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceNevada Teen Labor Laws
New Hampshire (NH)
14-15No youth shall be employed or permitted to work without a certificate. Cannot work earlier than 7:00am or later than 9:00pm, more than 3 hours per day on school days or 23 hours per week.
16-17Cannot work more than 6 consecutive days or more than 30 hours during the school calendar week
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceNew Hampshire Teen Labor Laws
New Jersey (NJ)
14-15Can work 3 hours per day, 18 hours per week when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work before 6:00am or after 11:00pm.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceNew Jersey Teen Labor Laws
New Mexico (NM)
14-15Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceNew Mexico Teen Labor Laws
New York (NY)
14-15Must have A Student Non-factory Employment Certificate. May work after school hours and during vacations, but not in factory work. They may do delivery and clerical work in any enclosed office of a factory, and in dry cleaning, tailor, shoe repair, and similar service stores
16-17If attending school a Student General Employment Certificate is required. If not attending school, a Full-Time Employment Certificate is required. If not attending school, may work full time throughout the year. Factory work is permitted for minors 16 years of age or older.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceNew York Teen Labor Laws
North Carolina (NC)
14-15Youth employment certificates (YEC) are required. Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Youth employment certificates (YEC) are required.Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceNorth Carolina Teen Labor Laws
North Dakota (ND)
14-15A Certificate of employment is required as well as a letter from a prospective employer is required before an employment certificate is issued. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceNorth Dakota Teen Labor Laws
Ohio (OH)
14-15Must have workers permit. Cannot work for more than 5 hours without at least a 30 minute break. Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Must have workers permit. Cannot work before 6:00am or after 11:00pm.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceOhio Teen Labor Laws
Oklahoma (OK)
14-15Employment certificate issued by schools; required for all employed minors. Employers are required to have an employment certificate from the school before a minor is allowed to work.
16-17Employment certificate issued by schools; required for all employed minors. Employers are required to have an employment certificate from the school before a minor is allowed to work.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceOklahoma Teen Labor Laws
Oregon (OR)
14-15Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17No hourly restriction. Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceOregon Teen Labor Laws
Pennsylvania (PA)
14-15A general or vacation employment certificate is required. The employment certificates are issued by school authorities. Maximum 4 hours on school days, 8 hours on any other day, and 18 hours per school week.
16-17A general or vacation employment certificate is required. The employment certificates are issued by school authorities. A transferable work permit may be issued to 16 and 17 year olds. Maximum 28 hours per school week.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourcePennsylvania Teen Labor Laws
Rhode Island (RI)
14-15Cannot work during school hours. Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Must have Class 2 work permit. Cannot work after 10:00pm or before 5:00am. See the link below for the prohibited occupations.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceRhode Island Teen Labor Laws
South Carolina (SC)
14-15Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceSouth Carolina Teen Labor Laws
South Dakota (SD)
14-15Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17No work hour restrictions. Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceSouth Dakota Teen Labor Laws
Tennessee (TN)
14-15Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work during hours when you are required to attend school. Cannot work between the hours of 10:00pm and 6:00am.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceTennessee Teen Labor Laws
Texas (TX)
14-15Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceTexas Teen Labor Laws
Utah (UT)
14-15May not start work before 5:00am and cannot work after 9:30pm. Can work in non-hazardous occupations, such as retail stores, restaurants, fast food, service stations, lawn care, janitorial, and other occupations not determined harmful by the Labor Commission.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceUtah Teen Labor Laws
Vermont (VT)
14-15Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceVermont Teen Labor Laws
Virginia (VA)
14-15Must have an employment certificate, have limited work hours, and cannot work in certain jobs. Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceVirginia Teen Labor Laws
West Virginia (WV)
14-15Work permit required. Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm. During summer hours must get 30 minute lunch after 5 hours.
16-17Work permit may be required. Works hours unrestricted. Prohibited from occupations involving the serving or dispensing of alcohol while working in an establishment (other than a bar) where alcohol is served, dispensed and consumed on the premises.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceWest Virginia Teen Labor Laws
Wisconsin (WI)
14-15Work permit required. Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 4 hours per day when school is in session. 24 hours for a partial school week. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 11:00pm.
16-17Cannot work more than 26 hours per week or more than 5 hours per day when school is in session. 32 hours for a partial school week. Cannot work before 5:00am or after 11:00pm.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceWisconsin Teen Labor Laws
Wyoming (WY)
14-15Work permit required. Cannot work more than 18 hours per week or more than 3 hours per day when school is in session. Cannot work before 7:00am or after 7:00pm.
16-17Cannot work in any vocation which has been declared by Rule or Regulation of the Secretary of Labor to be dangerous or injurious to the life, health, morals or welfare of a minor.
18-19Must be 18 to work in establishments that sell or serve alcohol for consumption
ResourceWyoming Teen Labor Laws

Quick Links

Downloadable resources

Hazardous Works

If you are not yet 18, you are prohibited from being employed in occupations that have been declared hazardous by the Secretary of Labor:

  1. Manufacturing or storing of explosives;
  2. Driving a motor vehicle or working as an outside helper on motor vehicles;
  3. Coal mining;
  4. Forest fire fighting and forest fire prevention, timber tract, forestry service, and occupations in logging and sawmilling;
  5. Using power-driven woodworking machines;
  6. Exposure to radioactive substances and ionizing radiation;
  7. Using power-driven hoisting apparatus;
  8. Using power-driven metal-forming, punching and shearing machines;
  9. Mining, other than coal;
  10. Using power-driven meat-processing machines, slaughtering, meat and poultry packing, processing, or rendering;
  11. Using power-driven bakery machines;
  12. Using balers, compactors, and power-driven paper-products machines
  13. Manufacturing brick, tile, and related products;
  14. Using power-driven circular saws, band saws, guillotine shears, chain saws, reciprocating saws, wood chippers, and abrasive cutting discs
  15. Working in wrecking, demolition, and ship-breaking operations;
  16. Roofing and work performed on or about a roof;
  17. Trenching or excavating.

child labor