Louisiana Child Labor Law

Last update: June 10, 2023

Minimum Hiring Age in Louisiana

What is the minimum age to be employed in Louisiana? The legal age to work in Louisiana is 12, but governed by state and federal child labor laws and varies based on:

  • The type of work (e.g., agricultural or non-agricultural)
  • Whether the job is considered hazardous or has prohibited duties.
  • Whether school is in session.
  • The legal status of the minor (e.g., emancipated minors).
  • Whether the job is exempt from the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

According to Federal Law (FLSA), a minor must be at least 14 years old to work for an employer (e.g. retail stores, food service establishments and gasoline service stations), with an exception for minors working for a parent or legal guardian who owns the business. This is the reason why you will never see job postings for children under the age of 14.

Age Restrictions

None (18 years of age to work as a server in a restaurant that sells alcohol or as a bartender. Age is not a factor in working for any business for which selling alcohol is not their primary purpose as long as that business holds an off-premises license, meaning alcohol cannot be consumed on the property.)

Minimum age to drive motor vehicles (cars and small trucks) on public roads as part of jobs is basically 17 years old, with certain requirements.

Minimum age to serve and bartend alcohol in Louisiana:

Beer Wine Spirits
Serve 18 18 18
Bartend 18 18 18

Work Hours

  • 14: May not work (more than): before 7:00 a.m. and after 7:00 p.m. (9:00 p.m. June 1 through Labor Day); 3 Hours per day on a school day; 8 Hours per day on a nonschool day; 18 Hours per week (if school is in session) and 8 Hours per day 40 Hours per Week (if school is not in session)
  • 16: May not work (more than): before 6:00 a.m. and after 10:30 p.m. preceding aschool day/1:00 a.m. preceding a nonschool day;6 Hours per day on a school day; 8 Hours per day on a nonschool day; 30 Hours per week (if school is in session); No restrictions if school is not in session.
  • 18: Unrestricted

Maximum daily and weekly hours and days per week for minors ages 14 and 15:
8-40-6 school day/week: 3-18

Maximum hours/days when school is not in session:
- 8 hours daily / 50 hours weekly/ 6 days weekly.
- Workers 16 and up may work up to 50 hours in one week and up to 10 hours a day only between the last day of school and Labor Day.

Maximum hours/days when school is in session:
- 3 hours daily/ 18 hours weekly)

Nightwork prohibited for minors ages 14 and 15:
- 7 p.m. (9 p.m. June 1 through Labor Day) to 7 a.m.

Non-graduate (7 p.m.-7 a.m. on any school day, 9 p.m.-7 a.m. on any non-school day)

Maximum daily and weekly hours and days per week for ages 16 and 17:
Not regulated

Nightwork prohibited for ages 16 and 17:
- Non-graduate 16 year old (11 p.m. - 5 a.m. prior to start of school day)

- Non-graduate 17 year old (12a.m.-5a.m.) prior to start of any school day.

Work Permit

Employment Certificate is required to employ minors under age 18. https://www.laworks.net/Downloads/WFD/MinorApplicationToEmployForm.pdf Age certificate is not provided.

Minimum Wages

The minimum wages in Louisiana is $7.25. Louisiana has no state minimum wage law. Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the current Federal minimum wage. FLSA allow employers to pay a youth minimum wage of not less than $4.25 an hour to employees who are under 20 years of age during the first 90 consecutive calendar days after initial employment.


Next reading: Find jobs for teens in Louisiana

Resources